TPO-26: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is better for children to choose jobs that are similar to their parents’ jobs than to choose jobs that are very different from their parents’ job.Use specific reasons and examples to sup

Job is the routine that will accompany us the entire life. So a job that fits us can not only warrant a successful career, but also be the basement of our happiness. While some people choose the jobs that are very different from their parents’ jobs, I would rather choose the similar jobs.

First of all, it is easier for the parents to cultivate the children’s interest in their working fields. Since interest is the most important aspect when choosing a job, children should choose the jobs according to their interest, which tends to be in their parents’ working fields. Many children of NBA stars start playing basketball at a young age and finally enter NBA league years later. One of my classmates whose father works as a chemist fancies for chemistry as well. He used to immersed in the lab all day. In the end, he achieved gold medal in China Chemistry Olympics which helped him enter Peking University majoring in chemistry. Our parents play an important role in developing our interests which affect our career choices.

Moreover, you can start from where your parents are when you enter the job. Parents will give you advice to avoid the mistakes once they had made, so it would be easier for the children to do well in their jobs. They will also teach the children how to fulfill the requirements of the works or how to please the superiors, which will help their children get promoted and have a better salary easier. The experience of last generations will be the corner stone for the children.

Last but not least, you can meet all kinds of people from your parents’ jobs. Their colleagues can help you get to know about the job multi-dimensionally. My mother works in China Academy of Science. Once she introduced me to a physicist who told me a lot about what academia were like and give me a great deal of advice in learning physics. He also taught me the academic status in different schools and introduced me some experts in the fields. With the helps of him, I prepared myself better when dealing with my academic works and make my goal clear. The familiars in the field can give the children guidance before and after they enter the career.

According to what we have discussed above, we can safely conclude that it is better for the children to choose the jobs that are similar to their parents’ jobs. The interest, experiences and the connections inherited from their parents can help them shape a successful career.