TPO-26: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is better for children to choose jobs that are similar to their parents’ jobs than to choose jobs that are very different from their parents’ job.Use specific reasons and examples to sup

Job is the routine that will accompany us the entire life. So a job that fits us can not only warrant a successful career, but also be the bridge stretching to happiness. While some people choose the jobs that are very different from their parents’, I would like to choose the similar jobs.

First of all, interest is one of the most important aspects when choosing a job. Children are pliable in their early age, so they incline to be affected by their parents and become interested in their working fields. Thus, children should choose the jobs according to their interest, which tends to be in their parents’ working fields. Many children of NBA stars start playing basketball at a young age and finally enter NBA league years later. One of my classmates whose father works as a chemist fancies for chemistry as well. He used to immersed in the lab all day. In the end, he achieved gold medal in China Chemistry Olympics which helped him enter Peking University majoring in chemistry. Our parents play an important role in developing our interests which affect our career choices.

Moreover, choosing the jobs similar to your parents, you can stand on the shoulders of your parents. Parents can give children advice to avoid the mistakes once they had made, so it will be easier for the children to do well in their jobs. They will also teach the children how to meet the requirements of the works or how to please the superiors, which will help their children get promoted and have a better salary. They may have their unique techniques beyond the textbooks that would simplify your work. For example, if your father is a hunter, then he may show you where you can find the quarry; if your mom is a cook, she may give you her recipe when you run a restaurant. The experience of last generations will be the corner stone for the children.

Last but not least, a deeper understanding about the working field can be depicted through your parents’ colleagues even before you enter the job. Through daily conversations they can reveal the insight of the job multi-dimensionally. My mother works in China Academy of Science. Once she introduced me to a physicist who told me a lot about what academia were like and give me a great deal of advice in learning physics. He also taught me the academic status in different schools and introduced me some experts in the fields. With the helps of him, I prepared myself better when dealing with my academic works and make my goal clear. The familiars in the field can give the children guidance before and after they enter the career.

According to what we have discussed above, we can safely conclude that it is better for the children to choose the jobs that are similar to their parents’ jobs. The interest, the experiences and the connections inherited from their parents can help them shape a successful career.