TPO-29 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? To improve the quality of education, universities should spend money on salaries university professors. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Recently, a prevalent saying heard is that a host of schools takes the top priority to raise the professors' salaries in order to improve the quality of education. However, a greater amount of opponents propose that the education level fails to be enhanced simply by paying more to the faculty since there are more unpredictable aspects which jeopardize the advancement in education and the facilities in schools are also in need of money. As far as I am concerned, the latter one makes more senses.

In the first place, although the enthusiasm of professors can be largely increased due to the high salary, it does not mean that the students' performance will be improved correspondently. This is because other aspects will also exert influences on students' performances such as their rational curriculum design, fewer chances to get access to practice and impractical teaching contents and teaching texts. The rationality of above can be well reflected by the story of my school. As an attempt to increase the efficiency of studying, the management removed one month from our agendas. Although more knowledge was delivered to us in classes, the chances for fully digesting the concepts and equators became rather slim. Imaginably, we saw a failure of record high rate at the end of this semester. It is clearly noticeable that the failure in students' performances was mainly due to the unreasonable curriculum design. In this case, even the professors are more willing to teach the class because of the raised wage, the quality of education can still not is enhanced. Thus, the universities should not put the utmost emphasis on professors' payments.

Additionally, if the schools devote much of their funds into enhancing the faculty's salaries, the old equipment in the laboratory can not be improved and new advanced technology can not be purchased. Especially with the progress in science, more and more students take their top priority to do an experiment in labs. Thus, there is a definite link between how much students’ can learn and how great the lab is. My own story can well back up the rationality of above. Last month, our school purchased a set of new laboratory facilities from foreign countries. Within a day, the lab was full of students enjoying their experiments. By using the advanced technology, I not only reflected on what I have been learned but also gained some new knowledge. The benefits I reaped from it were virtually shared by every student I know. In this sense, the school should put more money in improving the laboratory infrastructure because it works better than professors to improve the quality of education.

Admittedly, a minority of individuals tend to believe that the high salary is a major stimulus to professors to devote more energy to teaching. The supporters fail to take into account that the improvement in student’s performance and quality of education is a complicated issue which cannot simply be brought by the professors’ performances.

To sum up, I am on the opposite side of this claim. What is more, it's is essential for us to take various factors into account to improve the quality of education since it's of great importance to the development and growth of students.