TPO 30Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more enjoyable to have a job where you work only three days a week for long hours than to have a job where you work five days a week for shorter hours. Use specific reasons and examples to

No one can cast a shadow of doubt on the fact that a job is an inevitable and critical juncture in the life of most people, since leading an even simple life is not feasible without jobs in today’s world. So controversial is the topic in which a question always raises that whether a job with long hours in three days a week is better than a job with shorter hours in five days or not. Personally speaking, I agree with the former idea. In the ensuing paragraph, I will delve into the most outstanding reasons to substantiate my viewpoint.

First and foremost, working a few days a week gives more free time to spend doing leisure activities, and to fulfil personal interests; as a result, it makes people live healthier. In this progressive world, all individuals are engaged in hectic lives, so they cannot allocate enough time to personal interests, and living this way can cause mental and physical diseases in the long run, such as depression or spinal cord diseases in case of physical disorders. If a person can work fewer days a week, s/he will have a plethora of free hours to spend with her or his family members and friends or doing exercises. Therefore, s/he will be immune from the aforementioned diseases. Generally, the more people can respect or meet their interests, the more they feel satisfied and live a healthier life.

Another reason which deserves some words here is that by working more hours, one can finish specific tasks faster and more efficient. Dividing a job to one or two parts leads to lack of concentration on the topic and reduce efficiency. As a case in point, when I was an intern in the Iranian national organization of sports biomechanics, I was assigned with a project in which I had to process and analyze the data collected from the national basketball team. First, I planned to accomplish the project in a week, but every day I forgot about the progress I had made the day before. Therefore, I had to review the formulas every day. After three days, I decided to stay a few hours more and finish the work, and surprisingly I could finish the analyze in one day. Had I not stayed long hours, I could not have finished the job in time.

In conclusion, owing to the mentioned reasons, one can conclude that working longer hours and fewer days can be beneficial not only to have a healthier life but also to accomplish tasks effectively.