TPO3- It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends. Agree or not?

No one can cast a shadow of doubt on the importance of the role which friendships play in every individual’s life. So precious are friends that an author, whose name eludes me at the moment, once said” Walking with a friend in the dark so better than walking alone in the light.” While some people are of the conviction that it is better to stay with old friends, on the other extreme of the rope, others believe that making new friends is more important. Although both sides take their positions, personally speaking, I firmly believe that the second group carries more weight than the first one. In the ensuing paragraphs, I will delve into the most conspicuous reasons justifying my viewpoint.

First and paramount reason which comes to my mind is that in this progressive and sophisticated world, peoples always have to migrate from one place to another one, owing to the reasons such as, political issues, finding a decent job, and educational opportunities, to name but a few. Thus, it is so essential for people to have the ability to make new friendships. As a case in point, when I decided to study biomedical engineering in the most renowned university in my country, I had to move to another city and be far away from my friends. At first, I did not have any friends at the university, and I was alone. That situation was affecting my performance in my courses. After one month I could find some friends, and now they are the most intimate friends I ever had. Had I have not made new friendships, I would have been alone at undergraduate’s years.

Another noteworthy reason which deserves some words here is that one’s personality and traits may alter over time, and one’s cannot keep the old connections and friendships. From the infancy of life, everyone makes connections, but few of them will last. It may have happened to anyone to feel that has nothing in common with a close friend. To put into a more vivid picture, when I was in high school, I had a friend, which I thought we would not take apart from each other, but when he chose to become a painter, he changed the group of his friends and told me that feel have nothing in common with me anymore. He said that his new friends understand him better and they have similar interests. Thus, we never met each other again. Generally, the more a person changes, the more his or her interests will change, and the more his or her connections will change.

For the matter of conclusion, considering the mentioned reasons, I think now clear it is that making new friends is better than keeping old friends. It was just the story in a nutshell, and thereby more reasons should be considered.