TPO-31- Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Because the world is changing so quickly, people now are less happy or less satisfied with their lives than people were in the pastUse specific reasons and examples to

Since the dawn of civilization, people have been concerned about the happiness and its definition. Nowadays, with the advent of technology, life and its meaning are changing dramatically and this phenomenon is not inevitable. In this regard, there is a controversy amongst people that many of them believe that because the world is changing so quickly, people now are less happy or less satisfied with their lives than people were in past. Personally speaking, I am not in favor of this approach. I assert my viewpoint for two reasons and will illustrate them in the following.

The first facet to be mentioned is that after the invent of technology life has become more simple. To be more clear, the lifestyle that has been provided by the advent of technology has eliminated many hardships from man's life. Difficulties such as providing healthy water for the cooking and hygiene utilizations, growth in transportation and communications, Thus due to the fact that life gets easier than before, I conclude that it becomes happier. To clarify my point, take a university student as an example. Many years ago, a university student had to endure many difficulties to study his lesson and incomplete his assignments, there was no internet, therefore he has to look up for his questions in books which, required a lot of time and energy and he might not be able to dedicate part of his time to entertaining. On the other hand, today's students have a lot of free time due to the fact that they can do their home works in a more confined duration, thus they can engage with lots of fun activity that bring joy to them and thrill them. This example helps me to illustrate my point that, less labor provides less sadness and more labor provides less happiness.

Apart from the point discussed above, today's urban life provides an environment in which people can experience many kinds of entertainments. There are many community centers, park, cinema and clubs which were not abundant in the past. These centers were designed in order to let people have fun and entertain themselves and observation has shown that these places are always filled with happy and laughing people. A smile on face indicates the happiness one is having. Let me take myself as an example, I take advantage of these forgoing center to blow off my steam and make myself happy and I always get good results. On the other hand, many years ago there were no such places in which people could gain their energy back, thus their sadness accumulated inside them and made them become depressed gradually.

All in all, according to the aforementioned points and example, I believe the speed of life is not a good indicator of one's happiness. I cling to my viewpoint with the mentioned reasons. However, there are opposing points of view based on which people take the speed of time as a measurement of happiness but from the standpoint of being realistic, I think the most important reason to be happy cannot be the speed of time.