TPO 31 less life satisfaction than the past

Since a long time ago, human beings have always been seeking happiness; however, nowadays, different aspects of a person’s life which contribute to the sense of satisfaction have changed drastically. When it comes to this point, some controversy may arise whether people are less gratified with their lives than people in the past. I personally believe so. In what follows, two crucial reasons will be given to shed light on my viewpoint.

The first and paramount reason which comes to my mind is that people dedicate less time to their personal interests. Managing even a simple life has been challenging and demanding thanks to the arrival of job professionalism and economic crises in the modern era. Finding a decent job requires a lot of skill and consequently, a plethora of time will be needed to become an adept. As a result, hardly do people find adequate time to allocate to leisure activities, which in the course of little time, leads to a lack of pleasure. Take a family which has two kids living in Tehran, the capital of Iran, as an example. Both father and mother have to work hard from dawn to dusk in order to fulfil the financial needs of the family. Even the kids have to study hard and attend a significant number of extra-curricular programs to boost their chance of entering a high-ranking university, and seizing future job opportunities. Thus, none of them has enough time to spend on the actual means of happiness. To put it into other words, the more one is ignorant of his/ her interests, the more s/he will feel a lack of satisfaction in life.

Another reason which deserves some word here is that the values of relationships have changed dramatically. In the past, people made relationships based on loyalty, honesty, friendship, etc. On the other hand, in this sophisticated time which we live, even the most important relationships, such as marriages, are based on economic conditions or social classes. Humanity and its values are going to vanish, owing to the fact that people do less care about them. Therefore, people cannot fully trust their partners, wives, husbands, and co-workers, and they live unhappy and stressful lives. According to a recently held study, conducted at Iran’s National Organization of Statistics, of all the couples in Iran, only around a third of them are happy about their matrimony, owing to the wrong ambitions of their marriage.

To put everything in a nutshell, we can conclude that nowadays, people are bereft of senses of gratification and happiness in their lives because not only do they put their interest at the latest priority, but also they make their relationships based on wrong values.