TPO-34 - Independent Writing TaskDo you agree or disagree with the following statement?Educating children is a more difficult task today than it was in the past because they spend so much time on cell phone, online games, and social networking Web site.Us

In the recent decade, technology is an inevitable part of our lives not only for children but also for adults. At this point of view, a controversial situation arises in the education of children that spending so much time on cell phones, online games, and social networking Web site has become a more difficult task for educators than it was in the past. From my humble perspective, I disagree with the situation stated, since technology is beneficial if it can be used wisely. Following reasons expresses my viewpoint.

To begin with, an important advantage of media could facilitate and improve the communication between students and teachers. Most of the universities employ a networking Web site where teachers can open a discussion before a lecture in order for students to prepare them to the upcoming lecture. Additionally, the assignments can be posted online for students to upload, so there will be no need for printing the assignment and put into the box at the front door of the professor's office. In other words, it prevents wasting time for unnecessary responsibilities. I want to give an example to clarify my view at my freshman year at university. I had to go to my hometown at the deadline date because of a family issue, however, I haven't finished the assignment yet and I missed the deadline date. Then I finished the assignment back at home, and If I could upload it via online, I wouldn't have a problem. Fortunately, I got a deadline extension for my reason. Consequently, if educators profits these advantages of technology, students can easliy become better in their courses.

Subsequently, the other and related reason is to relieve stress. Children, especially in younger ages are much more sensitive to stress than adults, and they may not deal with stressful pressure. Video games is one of the ways to forget about those problems and focus on success afterward. Thus, a few hours of playing computer games benefited to relieve. Moreover, communication with friends is especially important for childeren to decrease their stress. I can mention about my brother to illustrate the situation with video games. My brother is sensitive to facing problems and they make him sad, and he cannot concentrate his courses at school. Then, a psychiatrist suggested to schedule a playing video game time for decrease his stress, and it worked, his grades increased. Consequently, students may play video games and communicate via cell phones to relieve.

In conclusion, I hold the opinion of using technology appropriately may be profited for students in the long term. Since it decreases stress, they achieve higher grades. Additionally, teachers can facilitate the education process by using networking Web sites of schools.