TPO 39: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In the past it was easier to identify what type of career or job would lead to a secure, successful future. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

As you know one of the key factors of happiness in life is job satisfaction. As people spend most of their daily time at work and their job determines and guarantees their financial power, it is highly crucial to choose a job that has a secure future. In this respect, some people hold the view that today it is not easy to find a job with a secure and bright future. From my own perspective, this statement is true due to some reasons. Among different reasons which support my idea, I will delve into the most conspicuous ones in the following paragraphs.

The most prominent issue which should be taken into account seriously is that if we exclude the academician strata and the related jobs in the academic sphere which are considered highly secured jobs, virtually 70% of the remaining members of society have to search for a job in the free markets and business areas. These kinds of jobs have a strong correlation with political affairs and the overall economic condition of a country. In developing countries that do not have formed a strong economic structure yet, these jobs apparently experience ebbs and flows with the political decisions of the government attorneys. For instance, in Iran, the automobile industry was really fruitful in a period of time, but after increasing tension between Iran and some western nations and the following sanctions, lots of automobile companies bankrupted. Hence, for a majority of people, it is difficult to predict the future of a job or identify secure jobs.

Another important point coming to my mind is about technological advancements. As you know, nowadays technology is growing at a fast pace and also create new professions. These new carriers are usually popular and profitable but barely for a maximum of 6 years and then may be replaced by other jobs. For instance about 10 years ago, internet cafes were really popular as they have access to high-speed internet and most people prefer to go there and surf the internet. Those days you could hardly find a free computer system and internet cafes were always busy. But a few years later, by the arrival of personal computers, tablets, and smartphones and broad access to the internet, internet cafes became obsolete. Therefore, in our modern era, it is hard to determine which job would have a reliable future.

To sum up, we can confidently draw the conclusion that as most of the available jobs are highly affected by variable factors like political affairs and also technological developments constantly creates some jobs and abolishes others, it is definitely hard to identify which job would have a secure and successful future.