TPO 41

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays.

There is no shortage of opinion on the matter how the public attitude towards the professors changed. In my opinion, the respect for the teachers have diminished for the last several years. I feel this way for two main reasons, and I will develop these ideas in the subsequent paragraphs.

Firstly, in today's world, education is heavily based on the handouts and books rather than the professors. Therefore, influence of the books and reading materials on the learners are greater than the pedagogues, which lowers the reputation of the tutors. By contrast, several years ago, the education was primarily based on the teaching of the professors, which is the reason why they were appreciated by learners and their parents. I have to admit that my opinion on this matter was influenced by my own experience. When I was younger, there were few handouts and materials associated with the mathematics. Thereby, only people who can help me was the mathematics teacher of the high school whom I respected greatly. Fortunately, there are many invaluable materials on the every branch related to the mathematics, which helped me to study topics independently of the any professor. Moreover, nowadays, I would respect the books rather than any professors. Drawing from my own experience, many adequate books were published profoundly last few years, which made possible for students to study things without help of the pedagogues.

Secondly, in the past, pedagogues were allowed to berate students to nurture them. On the other hand, currently, teachers will be heavily reprimanded by the public and parents if they berate pupils when students perform something wrong. Therefore, teachers are not capable of nurturing young people, which occasion the public opinion that they are incompetent on teaching students. For example, when I was in the preschool, I strived to succeed in the class because I dreaded that my pedagogue will berate me. Furthermore, this fear lead me to have the highest grade later, which makes me and my parents to appreciate my tutor. Conversely, teacher of my younger sister could not motivate my sister to study by heart because the teacher is not available to be harsh to her students. For this reason, my parents started criticizing the tutor for not teaching well. As a result, the pedagogues are too benevolent to teach students because of the fear that people would criticize them.

In consequence, professors are less appreciated by the public nowadays. This is because they are not the main source of learning anymore, and cannot utilize harsh method to teach students.