Tpo 41 Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Education plays a pivotal role in people's lives in recent centuries as the world has changed rapidly in many aspects and teachers are an indispensable part of education. A controversial question, which is often raised regarding this idea, whether teachers are less appreciated by society in comparison to the past or not. While some people are inclined toward the idea that teachers were more valued in the past than they were in today's world, others are against their point of view. As far as I am concerned, I am of the opinion that teachers are not appreciated as they did in the past. In the following paragraph, I will delve into some reasons and examples justifying my point of view.

The first noteworthy reason coming to my mind is that since people have access to a wide range of programs that help to educate themselves, the importance of a teacher in the process of learning diminish, resulting in less respect and value they get from society. The considerable part of the duties of each teacher is educating pupils to broaden their scope of knowledge which the advent of technology gives pupils the opportunity to benefit from countless reliable resources to gain knowledge without tutoring by teachers. Therefore, pupils do not need teachers in their education they do not respect them as much as in the past when educating students was completely the responsibility of a teacher. For instance,

Another exquisite point to be mentioned is that in contrast to the past that most of the students wanted to become teachers, nowadays, students tend to continue their higher education to have a decent job in other professions like being engineer, doctor, and businessman, which reduce the significance of being a teacher. Nowadays, students are money-oriented and have recognized how finding a higher paying job important in their future life, thus they are not interested in being a teacher as they know how the income of a teacher is meager, which in turn reduces the value of being a teacher. Apart from that, In today's materialistic societies people respect those who are affluent and wealthy since teachers do not earn a high income, they do not receive respect from society.

To summarize, from what has been discussed above, I firmly support the notion that teachers were more valued in the past compared with today. This is because technology has penetrated every facet of our lives especially education and we no longer need a teacher as a mentor to tutor us. Moreover, in this materialistic world, people respect more affluent people, since teachers have not much money they do not receive respect from society.