TPO-41 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Many people believe that teachers were more appreciated and valued by the society in the past than they were nowadays. I believe, however, that people today respect teachers more than ever.

First, an increasing number of parents realize the importance of education as well as the crucial role that teachers play in shaping their children's future. Therefore, most parents show their great respect to teachers. For example, they will send gifts like flowers and chocolates to teachers, especially on Teachers' Day every year. However, in the past, people regarded teacher as the lowest job and no one cared about teachers. It is clearly that teachers receive more respect from parents nowadays.

In the second place, government pay more attention on education, leading to more support to teachers. In class, there is always a teaching assistant sticking around to help teachers with their instructional activities. After class, many school provides services like child day care to ensure that personal issues won't concern teachers too much so that they can fully dedicate themselves into their jobs. On the other hand, students always outnumbered teachers, which means the workload on one teacher's shoulder is a lot heavier than that of today's teacher. Not to mention there were not teacher-friendly services available in schools.

Admittedly, teachers' salary is lower than many other professional jobs like lawyers or doctors. However, this situation is now undergoing positive changes. The government allocates more funds to schools to pay the salary. Now the salary of teachers is higher that than the average salary. Moreover, teachers enjoy two long paid-vocations and a lot annual bonus. In the past, teachers received the lowest salary with no additional privileges.

According to what we have discussed above, I have strong reason to believe that teachers are more appreciated and valued by society nowadays than they were in the past.