TPO-41 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Teaching is very interesting and valuable job. Teaching is also very hard job specially in kindergarten and elementary schools. Because, managing young children and teaching them need lots of energy. The question of variation in teacher's position in society has been a topic of controversy among educational system's manager. Different responses can be given to this question based on different societies. In my opinion, teacher were more appreciated in the past that they were nowadays. I have two main reasons for holding this opinion which I am going to mention in the reminder of this essay.

The first reason coming to mind for supporting this idea is associated with economy. Unfortunatly, one of the main factors that creates appreciation and value for different people is economy level. Teachers don't earn as much as other people in different countries. It is really embrassing. Because, teachers nurture engineers and doctors and etc. But unfortunatly, engineer's salary is much higher than teachers. For instance, in my country, Iran, teachers are in the bottom of most paid job's list. The level of economy has decreased value of teacher in the society.

Their number is the second reason that advocate my idea. Number of teachers increases in the society each year. Because most people are going to be a teacher for its job security and also teachers have lower hours of working than other jobs. The number of teachers in the past was really lower that today. However, the population increased and the society needs more teachers but I thinks that having lower number of teachers with high quality is better than having many teachers with low quality. Let's use an example for supporting my idea. Today, in my country number of teachers is twice as it was in 20 years ago but the population is not twice as it was in that time.

In conclusion, Teachers were more appreciated and valued in the past than they were nowadays. I think that two reasons that cause this problem is associated with economy and their number. I hope that governments will control these problems and teachers will get their position back in the future.