TPO-41 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Teachers have always played a prominent role in the society as they are teaching the next generation of the society. A question which raised in this regard is that whether teachers were more valued by the society in the past than they were nowadays. While some people believe nowadays teachers are appreciated more due to the importance of education, others hold the opposite perspective. I firmly think teachers were admired more in the past owing to some significant reasons. The following paragraphs will elaborate on my points of view.

The most momentous reason is that education was harder in the past, therefore, a few people can become a teacher. Nowadays education is more convenient, as a result, there are more teachers in the society. When they were fewer teachers, they were valued more. For instance, in the tenth century in Iran, there were just a few teachers who taught the students. They were not only renown but also respected by people especially parents of students.

Another noticeable reason that worths some words here is that, nowadays respect relates to how much money one person make, unfortunately. Because teachers do not make as much as rich people they are not valued. for example, I was a teacher in the high school two years ago. One time one of my students did not study well, thus, I wanted to talk to his parents. When they come, they said to me that they are paying for me, so, it is my duties to solve his problem. I was really upset because of their inappropriate behavior. They did not respect me as their child teachers' at all because they pay money. It indicates that teachers are not valued nowadays as much as past.

In addition to changes in the society, teachers act differently nowadays which result in less admiration. There a lot of teachers nowadays obviously all of them are not qualified enough, hence, some of them maybe act in the wrong way which alters society attitude toward the teachers. For instance, a teacher punished one of his student by hot iron ruler last month which engender a catastrophic new in the society. Although this teacher fired from his work, he had an effect on peoples' view.

To sum up, after all the factors being taken into consideration, we might come to the conclusion that teachers were more respected in the past. Because the population of teachers was less than nowadays. Also, nowadays money is more important and some teachers' misbehavior alters the peoples' attitude.