Teaching are the most important task that not any one can do it, It needs a person who have special characteristics and personality to allow him do this job with confident. Some people believe that teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than nowadays. In my opinion I agree with that statement for the following reasons.

First, In the past few teachers were available for the society. this was due to few number of students were attending collage and most of them was working in rural area, this add a positive advantage for the graduated teachers and get more respect from all population. For example, I remember when i was in the school, we have teachers from different country, like Egypt, Sudan, Iraq. this was due to the fact that no Yemeni teachers were graduated yet. Those teachers were get much higher respect from my family and from the community in general, Every one try to invite them for lunch or dinner, and I remember every day on morning i took breakfast for them to their home, As you can see, this reflect how much were the teacher were respected and appreciated from my community.

Secondly, high salary rates for teachers in the past than today. In the past as i mentioned earlier there were a few teachers and most of them was from foreign countries, This jeopardize the government to gave them higher salaries. Moreover, this advantage made them stopped thinking for a private lessons for students, As a result all community was looking for them as a rich people, and you know rich people always get respects from others. For instance, I hired a teacher for my kids, one time i talked to him how was our teachers in the past and how we was respect him, He told me that this was because they have a lot of money, but nowadays, all teacher seeking for another job, and they aren't satisfied with what they doing, he says that what bring me her to teach your kids, in order to get extra money. For that reason, teachers nowadays get less valued by society.

In sum, though some disagree with the idea that teachers in the past more appreciated by society, I believe that teachers in the past were more respected and valued by their community, not because they get a high salary rate, but also there were few teachers in the past than today. We should all respect teachers because those are the candle that burn itself in order to light for others.