TPO 45: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives. Use specific reasons and ex

Making decisions in life is one of the most arduous tasks that a lot of people face. Many believe that young people in the past were more independent and did not rely on their parents while taking important steps in their life. However, personally, I think that teenagers nowadays can make serious decisions on their own. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, in our technological world, we have a plenty of factors like the internet and television that influence us and help us make important decisions. In the past, teenagers did not have the wide access to information so they often asked older people who have more life experience for pieces of advice. However, today we can readily find the information about any aspect, so we can solve our problems on our own. My personal experience is a good example of this. In the last year of high school, I could not decide what field should I choose to study in the future. After some days of surfing the internet, I found that with a science degree is a lot easier to find a job, so I made the decision to major in biology. I made an important decision based on what I have read.

Secondly, today's generation is more willing to be independent then the past one. People from their teen ages try to be independent as possible to prove that they are mature enough. They insist on working out their life without the adults' help. For instance, my older brother moved out as soon as he finished high school to be self-reliant. He always wanted to do everything on his own because it makes him feel proud of himself.

In a way of conclusion, I strongly believe that today young adults are more likely to make important life decisions without the help of their parents than young people in the past. This is because they have many technological tools that influence their mind and nowaday's young have a stronger desire to be independent.