TPO 45 TASK 2 WRITING:

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Although the young generation always depends on their parents, this adherence has been changed in recent years. In the past, the method used in the educational system, as well as parents’ behavior was not the same as today. The Father of a family made a final decision on each topic, and teachers did not allow students to comment on a topic at school. However, with the development of technology and using worldwide webs, this trend has drastically been altered. Nowadays, children are able to increase their knowledge in a wide variety of subjects in a way that they can make decisions about their own lives independently. Moreover, Thanks to social connections that children experience in society, school, and the social network children’s confidence have more increased than the previous generation. In my opinion, these two specific alterations in the young generation's life will lead to they act more independently in decision making than before. In the following, I will elaborate more on this issue.

First, in making independent decisions, self-confidence plays a significant role. In fact, the more confident a person is, the more independent decisions they can make. A high confident child can make a correct decision without fear of the consequences of it. For example, recent researches show that today's lifestyle has made that children’s dependence on their parents in most areas has strongly been reduced in comparison to the previous generations. Most of the children that participated in these researches said that they are able to make a decision independently since they have the necessary confidence for making independent decisions. As far as I am concerned, a child‘s self-confidence compared to previous generations has grown in the right direction, and this is why the children of our generation can independently decide on many issues in their lives without worry and fear.

Second, since children’s information and knowledge were limited in the past, parents thought that they should control and manage their children's lives. In contrast, recently, the method that the educational system has used in schools, and the way parents have treated their children has caused children to feel they have control over their lives. For example, many parenting methods encourage parents to give their children different responsibilities. This responsibility can begin with giving a child small choices in his or her life. As a result, it teaches them self-motivation as they have the freedom to find their own reasons to achieve. Therefore, increasing the awareness of children and parents, which has been the result of years of effort in the education system, has caused children to show a more independent personality and as a result, they can make decisions independently of their parents.

In conclusion, regarding the points mentioned above, benefiting high confidence in one side and quick access to information on the other side prompt the young generation to make more decisive decisions than the past. And this independent decision has positive results such as it promotes confidence and self-esteem as well as motivation and perseverance in school.