TPO 46 Independent Writing TaskDo you agree or disagree with the following statement The opinions of celebrities such as famous entertainers and athletes are more important to younger people than they are to older people Use specific reasons and examp

It is clear a high degree of media and audience attention is naturally pointed to celebrities whenever they make a speech about anything. That being said, I strongly believe it is always the young people that are greatly influenced by such words from big stars, as compared to the older generations.

There is no doubt young people constitute a big proportion in the number of famous stars' followers as they are more accustomed to the world of Internet and social media. By joining several social platforms where the pool of opinions are overflowing, young users tend to resort to listen to the outstanding individuals who they idolize. As a result, words from their beloved celebrities always seem to weigh more, and thus have more impact on their life than words from other people, even their family and friends, irrespective of matters. My sister is a typical example of this. Back then in COVID years, she wouldn’t agree to go for the vaccine shot for due to irrational fear of needles. No one in my family or any of her friends could convince her to get vaccinated, even though we tried every reason we could think of. That was not until some days later when her favorite singer publicly expressed his opinion on COVID vaccines and advised everyone to get injected that my fearful sister said yes to a vaccine appointment. One can never realize how much celebrities are influencing on young people on every aspects of life.

On the other hand, to older grown-ups who have experienced quite enough in life, speeches from celebrities actually do not convey any especially meaningful or helpful messages. This is not to mention most superstars are only of the same age or even much younger than these adults. Most of what they say probably sound unrelated or immature to people who have spent more time in the life. For example, we can barely expect our parents to resonate with and be influenced by what a famous entertainer is talking on TV about gaining strength and striving in life. They will be likely to think that such things have nothing to do with their life and that they have learned enough. In other words, older generations are not easily influenced by other unexperienced human-beings even if they're well-known around the world.

In conclusion, it is safe to say older generations are never the target market of entertainment industry since they are long proved less likely to listen to and value celebrities' opinions. In contrast, young people who just begin their life journey and are more active on the internet seem to obtain far more impacts from what their idols have to say.