TPO-49 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends

Freindship is one of the important part of our life. Without having good friends around people suffer from loneliness and are despondent. While some belive it is good to have the ability to make new friends everywhere ,others think differently. They prefer to maintain their old friends to feel happy. In my opinion, maintaining the old friends is more important due to their reliability and underestanding.

To begin with, old freinds have history to gether. They know each other for a long time and are familiar to their characteristic and personality. There is no need to say something ,they can underestand our feeling without talking. We can confide in very easy for them and feel free. Their advice is more realistic and more practical.For example, when I am sad or upset, my old friend feel that even from distance .They completely are familiar with my feeling and knew how to help me at that time. But new friends do not know us thoroughly and maybe their reaction make the situation worse. Therefore, old friends are better adviser and supporter.

Also, during time we can trust people. At first, we are not sure who is reliable and honest and who is not. Time is the best examiner. In fact, old friends are more reliable and they showed this during time.For instance, we never rely on our new friends who did not show their honesty during the difficult situation. But most of our old friends were examined during time and it is important to keep them. In fact, they are like a precios gem that we have to take care of them and maintain our relationship. My best friend is far from me but I can rely on her from distance and get help. On the other hand, making new friends could be helpful to adapt to new places and be more comfortable .However misunderestanding and dishonesty have to be in mind in every situation.