TPO-49 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends

Freindship is one of the indispensable part of our social life. We need to communicate with others and make friends. While some believe maintaining few old friends are more important for having a happy life, others against it. In my opinion, although keeping old friends is very important because every old friend is like a precious gem that enrich our life ,we need to make new friends to be happy in our life. My reasons go as follows.

First of all, our life is changing everyday and we change our job or place that we live due to different reason. Therefore, we need to make new friends to be happy in new places.For instance, we move to another city and most of my old friends are living somewhere else. If I can not make new friends ,I would be alone and do not feel happiness. It is hard to adapt with new friends and get along with them but it is the only way that we can put up with new environment and feel comfortable and making bonds.

Also, different friends have different point of views, thus, they broaden our view and make us open-minded. In other words, it is pleasant to see things differently and from different scopes. This could be possible by making new friends with different idea. For instance, when I went to college and lived in dormitory, I made new friends there from different culture.It was interesting how we can change our view to improve ourselves and not be judgmental. Threfore, making new friends helps us to be more experienced and be more optimistic.

Lastly, we live in the world of communication and social skills is very important for our satisfaction. Research study from Harvard university showed that people with greater and broader social connection live longer and healthier. In addition, depression is product of loneliness and isolation. Thus, we need making friends during our life to feel happy and not feel as being outsider.

In conclusion, although maintaining our old friends is very important because they are more reliable and more familiar with us, making new friends has more advantage for live happily. Not only they grow our perspective and broaden our view, but also make our social life more prosperous. We can live much happier if we surround ourselves with different friends.