TPO 53 - Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation.

It is imperative for governments to take care of their citizens so that they can have a safe and better lives which is very vital in this competative world. To make individuals' lives at ease, government is fully responsible to work on something which can benefit citizens. In my humble view, I totally disagree with the statement that governments should spend more money to improve internet access rather than to improve public transportation. I feel this way for certain reasons, which i will explore in the subsequent paragraphs.

First of all, many individuals commute on their own to go to their work. There are so many people who take buses and trains from home to work in order to save money. My own example is a compelling one. Three years ago, i moved to Chicago after graduating from university. Transit system in Chicago is amazing since many people ride on to go from work to home every single day. I knew i would not have to pay for gas or for car's maintainance. It has saved me huge amount of money and because of that, i have my own apartment. If i had not exploit public transit, i would not have saved up that much money for myself. Thanks to the government who has taken initiative and spend money to make best public transportation for people.

Second, public transportation is for all ages. Youngsters below 17 years of age, who go to school and who work in summer vacations are not allowed to drive in the US. Therefore, they are fully relied on these transportation. For instance, my brother, John is 16 years old. Our parents go to work at 6 in the morning. Thus, there's nobody who could drop him to school. Consequently, he decided to go to school from train. Sometimes he would not even get a place to sit and he would stand for an hour. Usually public transportation are full in the morning. Government should set up and take responsibility to add more buses and trains so that people can have more seats to sit.

To sum up, government has full authority to spend money and work on public transportation. This is because people can save money by travelling on public transportation and can ride safely and peacefully.