TPO 54- Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams.

Basically, governments are the notable parts of a society whose duties are to spend the national treasures and money of a country equitably. although it can be a contentious debate over the fairness, and what discern equality. this debate is prodigiously vast, but a sample controversial argument can be whether the governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored olympic teams. From my own perspective, the supporting athletics is a better option. In the ensuing lines, I will delve into the most outstanding reasons to advocate my viewpoint.

The first reason coming to mind is concerned with the issue that sport is a broad appealing activity and hobby among the people. As it was mentioned before, the most important factor that should be considered to answer this question is people. In my opinion, nowadays people are more likely to enjoy watching sports than arts. For example, in my country iran, every day a lot of art galleries are being held all over the country, including painting, calligraphy, and pottery. but, a majority of people are not even aware of them, which the reason might be that people really do not care about that. While, during last football world Cup in Brazil, iran played against Argentina and the match was fascinating. iran, unfortunately, defeated narrowly with one goal. For weeks after the match, people all over the country were talking about the match and they really loved the effort that the team had shown. If iran had won the match, I cannot imagine how much it would cheer up the nation, and I am sure iran is not an exception in this case. As a result, when I think about how much people love football, and other sports, it comes to a conclusion that governments should definitely spend more money to provide advancements in athletics.

Another equally important reason to be mentioned is the importance of sport worldwide. nowadays, the great international competitions are not as simple as it would be in the past. countries usually tend to have a monopoly in a particular sport, and by that, they actually boast about their power. Also, the number of sports infrastructure can be a manifest of development. Take the olympic games, as an example. The united states, as one of the most powerful countries, had been dominated the competitions for decades. In olympic 2008 in Beijing, china, however, they lost their monopoly and china could grasp the first place. The united states government spent a lot of money to retake their reign again, and they actually did it in London 2012 olympics.

From what has been discussed, we may reach the conclusion that governments should spend money in support of athletics. it is hard to disguise the effects that sports have on the people of the society. In addition, nowadays sport is an indication of development among countries. although the passage, merely is a personal idea of mine and might not be absolutely true. As Benjamin Franklin once said, “In this world, nothing can be said to be certain, except death and taxes.”