TPO 54 Writing Independent Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state sponsored Olympic teams Use specific reasons and examples to support you

In my opinion. I definitely disagree the statement that governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics. Though arts brings us calm and beauty, athletics brings a sence of vigor and passion, thus should not be neglected.

While it is true that arts is of great importance to a country, atheletics are also important for a counrty. Arts represents, in a way, the essential beauty of the world, and could change people's moods. As for me, whenver I feel stressed, I would simply listen to the music, then I would feel greatly relaxed. Arts for a country is great way of enjoyment, as well as a panacea for stress. However, atheletics represents the honor of the country. A country with great atheletes wins the respect from both the world and citizens. If a country has poor performance on atheletics, the country's people will be less confident, and the world will look down upon it. Remember that the Olympics was first created for replacing the war, the Olympics is like a war of the country, then the country should not neglect.

What's more, over-funding in arts while neglecting atheletics could harm the society. From the view of an economist, suppose the government has devoted a great amount of money in arts, the demand of artists will significantly increase. This may lead to a trend for students to study arts. However, only those who are highly talented could do well in arts. Thus, the country have great number of artists with insufficient skills. Not only the level of arts in this country will deterioriate, but these artists will also suffer from their poor quality of work. In a word, devote too much money to arts will only see the overall quality of arts decrease. In addition, neglecting atheletics could lead to public criticism. Those who want to perform sports won't have the resources. As sports is one of the main topics of people's daily conversation, in a pessimistic case, this measure will do harm to the relationships between people.

Finally, in philosophical sense, the world, including the country is subtle balance to multiple forces, often two counter forces. For example, the United States politcs is a balance of several forces. This also applies to the statement. Arts is all about calm and relaxation, by contrast, athletics is about passion and stress. Without passion and stress, the country will lose the balance. Suppose all people in the country spending all day appreciating arts, feeling for calm and relaxation. For the people themselves, they lose a important way to enjoy life-by living passionately. For the country, there is no means to develop, for everyone has no stress and thus has little motive to work.

In conclusion, arts and atheletics are a balance of calm and passion. For the government, it should devote fund arts and atheletics all the same.