TPO 62

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? After completing high school, students should take at least a year off to work or travel before they begin studying at a university. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The period after high school is critical, as young people enter a new phase of their lives, full of responsibilities and big decisions. The first and most significant decision they face is what the next step is? What do they choose as their major? What do they want for their lives? Some people believe it is best to take a year off to work or to travel before studying at a university, and I am one big supporter of this opinion for reasons I will discuss shortly.

Students need to figure out what they really want before choosing their majors. Ten years ago, after finishing high school, I had this big dream of becoming a pharmacist just like my parents were. Luckily, my uncle, who lived in the States at that time, invited me to visit him for the summer break. When I did, that was the turning point of my life. I stayed there for three months at first, and my uncle helped me get a job as a pharmacy technician in their local pharmacy. During this time, I realized that being a pharmacist was never actually a good fit for me. It was just a childish fantasy of following my parents' lead, so I went back home and majored in art. Now I have my own gallery, which I not only make a good living from, but I also really enjoy. If I did not travel after school and had my first work experience, I would never know what I actually want and would pick the wrong path for my life.

Another reason I strongly recommend taking some time to travel before university is to help students feel more relaxed to start the next important chapter of their lives. Take my brother as an example; he suffered from anxiety and severe burnout after high school. He was studying almost 24/7 and had no time to take care of himself at all. He took a year off and traveled around the world before he started his dentistry School. He always talked about how this year saved his sanity. Once, he told me that he would have never made it through dentistry school without that one year off. He said the pressure of the competition and studying was too much, but he was mentally ready for that because of the relaxing year he spent traveling the world.