TPO13: The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past.

Following the era advancement, the structure of family has evolved subtly from extended family to nuclear family, the number of family members has reduced from around ten to three or four, and that kind of big families has gradually fade away from our life. From my perspective, though extended family was indeed an integral part of life in the past decades, it has been less important nowadays.

To begin with, the improvement of material living standards has a far-reaching effect on the transformation of family structure. When my father was a child in the mid and late twentieth century, he lived in a humble house together with his grandparents, parents, uncles, aunts, and cousins. Those family members had to rely on each other in an attempt to survive during that tough period. However, in these days, the situation has already changed. Owing to the booming economy, people are able to accumulate a stock of wealth. And apartments become available for general consumers, which makes it possible for people to move out of the big family.

Moreover, if advanced transportation did not emerge, people would still stay in an extended family. In the past, bicycles were predominant among transportation means, by which people could go to the workplace or markets, but they were restricted in a relatively small scale of activity areas. it was reasonable that many extended families existed during that time. On the country, today, people have many choices of transportation means including automobiles, high-speed rails, and so on. people are not limited in the previous areas any longer, and they can build their small family anywhere to some extent if financial condition permits.

Finally, philosophies of life differ from individual to individual nowadays. Potential contradiction may come out, if close relatives always stay in a house together. Also, young generation seems to be more aggressive than the old. young people are willing to pursue ideal jobs at the risk of leaving the shelter of family and to make a living on their own. Therefore, nuclear family replaces extended family gradually.

considering the economic and social factors stated above, the number of extended family is shrinking and the impact of this family on people is being weakened. Consequently, I consider that extended family is not vital to us all currently.