TPO_26_Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is better for children to choose jobs that are similar to their parents’ jobs than to choose jobs that are very different from their parents’ job.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is true that a successful job requires a solid foundation on which a person can make progress. Some people are of the opinion that this implicates that children should choose their parents' careers to succeed. I, however, subscribe to the view that people do not necessarily have to choose jobs similar to their parents' to secure their future's success.

First of all, In today's world, people choose a career based on their interests which does not necessarily have to be what their parents have done. The governing meritocracy can guarantee that they can make progress if they are really committed to their jobs. Albert Einstein is a good example to this; his father wanted him to continue the family's business. He, however, refused to do so and studied physics - the major he was interested in. Einstein is not the only example. I know numerous people who have had illiterate parrent, but still acquired highest positions and most decent occupations. This illustrates that choosing jobs similar to parent's is not a primary factor in success.

Moreover, I believe that people should better not be supported by their parents in their jobs; this way they will become more independent. In the beginning of a career people may find obstacles that seem insurmountable, but as time goes by, they will learn how to tackle those problems. This way, they can gain the ability to think critically and devise new ways of addressing problems. In the way of solving problems, they learn many things that can, in turn, make them more mature and more successful. Whereas, choosing a job related to their parents', children would never have this opportunity and will, under the best circumstances, become mediocre workers.

In conclusion, I believe that in seeking for a solid ground for their future career, children should do their best in any major they decide to study if they want to be successful. Confining them to choose a career similar to their parents' is not the best choice, and sometimes, does more harm than good.