TPO32#2---Do you Agree or Disagree with the following statement? Because the World is Changing so Quickly, people are now less Happy with Their Lives or less satisfied than people were in the Past Use specific examples and Reasons to Support your answer.

The changing of the world around us has a great impact on our lives. Everything around us is changing in a very fast way that sometimes make it hard for people to accommodate. Some people are less happy and less satisfied with their lives due to this change, while others do not. I believe that people now are having more stressful lives and not satisfied than people were in the past. I feel this way for two main reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, people are less happy because they have stressful lives. Nowadays, everyone has to work hard to achieve his or her goal especially with the increase competition around us. Students have to study hard for better career and better future. People have to work hard to have better lives. As you can see everyone is busy and have limited time to enjoy life. Take my husband as an example of this reality. He is a pharmacist and is working in a retail pharmacy. He usually spends more than eight hours every day at work and it takes him more than two hours commuting to work, so probably he spends around ten hours out of home. During this time, he goes through a lot of stress. At work, he has to deal with different people with different personalities and he has to be patient with some of them and this sometimes stressed him a lot. He has to do a lot of paper work and other responsibilities that usually exhausted him. After a very hard day at work and two hours driving, he usually came back home stressed and tired and this, in turn, makes him unhappy and cannot enjoy his time. This is one story similar to a lot of people today.

Moreover, the advanced technology now makes people less satisfied. Every day there are new inventions like new cell phones, T.V with advanced features, cars with more options. People usually like to keep with the updated technology. They like to get the most advanced electronics. My son is a great example. He had all the Play station versions and when the Play station 4 showed in the market, he kept begging me to buy it for him. Although, he had Play station 3, he never satisfied with it and wanted the new one, since the new one is more advanced with more features and perfect resolution. Another day, he came asking for a new cell phone with more options. This was not the situation in the past because people had limited or no advanced technology. This demonstrates that with the increase in the innovations, people become less satisfied with what they have.

All in all, I totally agree that people are less happy and less satisfied than people were in the past. This is because people now have more stressful lives and because the introduction of the advanced technology.