TPO43

Imagine that you are in a classroom or a meeting. The teacher or the meeting leader says something incorrect In your opinion, which of the following is the best thing to do?

•Interrupt and correct the mistake right away.

•Wait until the class or meeting is over and the people are gone, and then talk to the teacher or meeting leader.

•Say nothing.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Throughout history, there were conflicts and differences in opinions in every situation. The most impirtant thing is that we need to behave wisely agaist the conflict of interests and errors that are made by others. Some people may believe that it is better to correct the mistake immediately; however, some others may take an opposite view and believe that it is better to say nothing. Personally, I contend that it is better to wait until the meeting is over and then talk to the teacher or the meeting leader. In the following paragraphs, I will elaborate on my viewpoint by bringing up some cogent reasons.

The first exquisite reason that comes to the mind is that if the mistake is not corrected, it may lead to another mistakes. It is possible that the leader or the whole group make desicions based on wrong assumptions. For example, when I was an undergraduated student, I attended the general physics course. One day, the professor made a bad mistake about a mechanical device, and he assumed that the total amount of the system's energy remained constant through the time. However, there was an energy damping element in the device which dissipated energy over time. I realized this error very fast, but I didn't say anything. Consequently, the professor didn't correct that mistake. Two months later, I faced the same problem on the final exam, and I wrote the right answer, but when I recieved my grade, I realized that the professor didn't give me a good grade since he didn't know that his answer to the question was incorrect.

Another noteworthy point that substantiates my point is that if I interrupt and correct the mistake, it can lead to change of the course direction. In addition, it may lead to a misunderstanding because the teacher may think that I want to criticize him. An example can shed some light on this issue. Ten years ago, when I was in high school, my math teacher made a mistake when he was calculating the area of a semi-circle. Immediately, I intrerrupted and corrected his mistake. As a result, he became so angry that you could feel he rage when you looked at his face. At first, he even did not accept that he was wrong and he punidh me. Eventually, he understood what I was saying, but even after that he refused to correct his mistake.

To encapsulate, If one weighs the merits and demerits of correcting the teacher mistake after class, he can infer that it is the best thing to do in the situations that a leader of a teaacher makes a mistake. However, it was a story in a nutshell, and there is a multiplicity of other reasons that confirm my stance. In the end, I belive that everyone should be careful when he want to correct his teacher's mistake.