TPO5 independent writing- Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

People today spend too much time on personal enjoyment-doing things they like to do-rather than doing things they should do.

Advertisements or movies keep reminding us that we only live once, which means that having a fun life is crucial. We are being taught that having a relaxing life is equally important to having a diligent life. However, in my opinion, people today are not spending too much time on personal enjoyment due to several reasons.

First of all, people nowadays require to study more than people in the past. In my parents’ generation, people were not requiring to study till 12 years old. They had more time in their childhood to do what they like to do. Nevertheless, people nowadays are forced to undertake compulsory education until we are 18 years old. There are so many cram schools that students can spend extra learning time. Besides, going to college is becoming a trend that we have to enter even we are not enthusiastic on learning. That is to say, we spend more time on doing what we have to do than doing what we like.

Secondly, the work time per week today is not less than before. As soon as our school life is ended, our work life start. Most of the companies need workers to stay in the office from 9 am to 6 pm including an hour lunch break from Monday to Friday. As the result, the time we can fully arrange by ourselves is little. To take myself as an example, I have to spend two hours daily commuting time from my home to the office. After deducting bath and meal time, I only have three hours to spend on personal enjoyment. Therefore, it’s impossible to spend too much time on what I like to do.

Admittedly, it is undeniable that recreation are abundant today. There are a lot of movie theaters or video games appeared. Yet, people can’t enjoy them too much if people’s free time is not enough. Besides, life is full with competitive people. We feel stressed if we rest too much and not follow up other people’s footsteps.

To sum up, people today don't spend too much time on personal enjoyment because it is more important to spend time on studying and working based on most people’s value system.