TPO 34 independent writing- Educating children is a more difficult task today than it was in the past because they spend so much time on cell phones, online games, and social networking Web sites.

My parents and teachers usually complain about how difficult to educate children nowadays. They claim that students can be distracted easily by their cell phones, online games and social medias. Yet, I disagree with the statement that educating children today is more difficult than in the past.

First of all, children nowadays can access to a wide range of resources from cellphones which they can learn by themselves. Through using cellphones, children can search for the information they interested or related to classes to make learning effective. To take myself as an example, when I was a university student, my teachers encourage us to preview the textbooks before classes. Because it is hard to preview without professional opinions, I searched for the papers and analysis about topics through my cellphones. Due to the perfect preparations, I can absorb the knowledge without difficulty during classes. It is obviously helpful to my study.

Secondly, children can easily spend more time to discuss group assignments with classmates. Through doing group assignments, students can learn from different perspectives and also can discuss with students who are better on study. Under this circumstance, social networking websites become important tools. For example, my friends and I can discuss the projects through group chat and online meeting websites. We can arrange the discussion time and places with flexibility. Some students who live remote from campus can go home early and still can join projects when they are at home.

Admittedly, it is undeniable that playing online games can take away children much learning time. Nevertheless, in my opinion, the appearance of online games is not the problem causing difficulty to teach children. Online games are new entertainment for children today. Children in the past played different games to entertain themselves. To teach children how to balance their learning and leisure time is the main issue.

To sum up, taking into account both advantages from cellphones and social networking websites, we may safely draw the conclusion that educating children today would not cause more difficulties than in the past.