TPO 6 Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Life today is easier and more comfortable than it was when your grandparents were children.

When I was in history class, I imagined what would it be like living in Taiwan 100 years ago. My grandparents enjoyed telling me story about their childhood. I listened to the stories with surprised, and I agree that life today is easier and more comfortable than before.

First of all, the living facilities now are way more advanced than in my grandparents generation. It is undoubtedly that people’s daily necessities are improving with technologies development. The convenience of our life will only getting better as time goes on. To take my grandparents as an example. During my grandparents childhood, they have never seen flush toilets. They told me stories about going to toilets at night outside their house. It not only smelt bad but also felt inconvenient. Besides, there were no cushion beds and air conditions. It is conceivable that the bed time was not as comfortable as I have now.

Secondly, during my grandparents childhood, Taiwan was not as peace as now. Taiwan's populations comprise of native people and immigrants from China. At that time, Chinese people immigrated to Taiwan in search of a better life. As the result, people in Taiwan were in an upheaval condition. Native people and Chinese people were facing difficulties sharing land and water. Chinese people were also segregated by different culture, that is to say, fightings were happened normally. To take my grandparents as an example, they are immigrants so they experienced discrimination by native people. Besides, they were, like other people, in charge of doing manual work with low salaries. It was very difficult for them to raise children.

Admittedly, there were fewer people in the past, so citizens lived in a place with little pollution. In the past, there were easy to see fish in the drains and birds in the sky. They had cleaner water and air compare to now. However, the technologies can help people to solve those problems now. We can easily install air purifiers and water filters and live in a comfort life.

To sum up, life today is easier and more comfortable than it was when my grandparents were children because the society is more stable and living facilities have improved.