In your country, is there more need for land to be left in its natural condition or is there more need for land to be developed for housing and industry?

In order to protect the species, to keep the land in natural condition is crucial. However, to improve a city’s development is on the contrary to the protection. In Taiwan, my country, there is more need for land to be developed for housing and industry.

First of all, Taiwan has small territory land with over 23,000,000 populations. In Taiwan, housing needs is always high especially for people living in the cities, such as Taipei and Taichung. Moreover, housing price is unaffordable for young people who work in the city. As the result, to exploit suburb areas and build bridges or roads for commuters become a solution. To take my cousins for an example, he couldn’t afford living in Taipei City, so he and his family bought an apartment at Linkou, where is a suburb area near Taipei. The traffic was planning to be very convenient for commuters. That is to say, more and more land being develop around the mega cities.

Secondly, Taiwan has to exploit land for commercial use. In regard of Taiwan’s international status, Taiwan is easy to be alienated by others countries. Therefore, improving our strength on economic is a way to let global see us. We build lots of factories in the west part of Taiwan, products including cloth, shoes and car tires. We exploit lands for agriculture in the south part of Taiwan. For example, we grows mangos in high quality and sells internationally.

Admittedly, it is dangerous to keep the development going on without restriction. A lot of habitats of endanger animals are being destroyed. It’s hard to see wild birds in Taipei City. However, Taiwan is trying her best to balance the development and nature. The government and non- governmental organizations puts in lots of efforts on protecting the natural land. We have strict law on land usage. People have to get permission to build in forrest. We set national parks to protect places from exploiting. As a citizen, I totally trust our government can provide a better place for people.

To sum up, my country is in a condition that more land need to be developed for housing and industry.