TPO53 Do you agree or disagree with the following statement It is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

It is critically important for governments that realize where to invest their budgets. This is a controversial issue among nations that spend their capital in the right places. As far as I am concerned, countries had better dedicate their money to improve public transportation because this brings more benefit for them. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, promoting public transportation help to lower air pollution in the country, which can significantly affect social health. There is no doubt that if people can utilize the metro, bus, and other common vehicles easily, they would not like to use their personal cars. These numerous personal cars, which certainly one person is in it, produce much more CO2 and CO in the air. On the other hand, Most of the public vehicles work by electricity, which means they don’t have a bad effect on the air. Take my county for instance, our government don’t care about public transportation consequently, subways and buses are too old and obsolete. As a result, I don’t desire to use them, so I have to use my own car to commute every day. Imagine every people use their car every day. In this case, the atmosphere of our city would be so dirty that we could not inhale safely. In contrast, the metro, which uses electricity could help people to have a healthy life.

Secondly, improving the common vehicles can contribute to diminishing the expense of fuel consumption, which helps governments save money and invest their budget on another issue. Undoubtedly, public buses consume less fuel than personal cars. Also, the metro, as I mentioned in the previous paragraph, uses electricity, thus the expense of fuel would be cut down by using these vehicles. In this regard, the government can use this saving money to invest in advanced technology such as electrical cars. For instance, ten years ago, Germany tried to improve its transportation to reduce its costs of fuel. After that, the government could allocate more money for research on electrical cars. Thanks to the result of the research, Germany now profits from that, and you see many electrical cars in the country. By this decision, the country could be one of the most advanced nations in the world.

In conclusion, I believe that government should spend more money to promote public transportation than internet access. This is because developing common vehicles brings about lower air pollution that influences social health and helps government invest in advanced research such as electrical cars.