The twentieth century saw great change. In your opinion, what is one change that should be remembered about the twentieth century? Use specific reasons and details to explain your cho

There are many milestones in 20 century, for instance, the discover of penicillin, the second world war or the fall of Berlin Wall. Nonetheless, in my opinion the landing on the Moon has a far greater impact in our lives, as Neil Amstrong said, “a small step for a man, a giant leap for mankind”.

Firstly, landing on the Moon gave hope to human being. It is not a secret that in the last century, we have seen weather changes, floods, iceberg melting and other phenomena that could be attributed to humanity activities on earth. Moreover, some scientist says that life on earth has a date of expire. Therefore, being able to get to the moon, opened a new path for the survival of our specie, in other words, the live beyond our planet. For example, when I was a kid, I used to read a book where the humans had a military base on the moon.

Secondly, and foremost is the development of new technology. Whatever the place we look at, it is quite normal to see many devices that works using technology derived from the space challenge. For instance we can consider the mobile phones, because they are based within a satellite network. Other example is the internet, it is only possible due to the development of new satellites and the improvement of communications systems.

Thirdly, the fact of landing on the moon have also had political consequences, which are visible until these days. The development of new and powerful ballistic missile is, in opinion of scientists, a direct consequence of the spatial race lived through the cool war, in fact, the technology used for put a rocket in space it is quite similar that technology used for sending intercontinental Ballistic Missile.

To conclude, the 20 century has had many different milestone’s and discovery’s that have the merits to be named, however, focusing in the task of choosing one of them, I choose the landing on the moon, because of the huge impact in the way that we perceive the live beyond our planet, all the technology improvements and the geopolitical consequences derived from it.