In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than there are today.

Traffic jam nowadays is a big problem concerning modern people. Because purchasing cars, especially expensive cars, is considered as one of the representation of wealth and status, there will be increasing cars in our society over time in many people's opinion. Contrary to their opinion is my perspective that there will be fewer cars in use in twenty years.

All all the reasons of why the number of cars in use in the future will decrease, the most important one is related to environment pollution, in particular, the air pollution. There is well-acknowledged that the environment conditions is getting worse and worse and it is urgent for human beings to take some actions to make some changes. Otherwise, we will be exposed to an unsuitable living condition, in which the polluted air is devastating to human and environmental health. Under this circumstance, people are likely advocated to abandon the addiction to automobiles and instead to take mass transit like subways or commute by bicycle. Consequently, the private cars in use will decrease. For example, the government of Xi;an, modern and metropolitan city in China recently issued and implemented several regulations and laws to encourage citizens to take cars as less as possible. To be more specific, they first planned to build two more new subways across the city from west to east and from north to south, respectively. In addition, they introduced sharing bikes, which spread throughout the city, to facilitate the daily transportation of residents. What's more, they restricted the number of cars running in the streets and roads. All these actions will engage more and more dwellers to take mass transit and abandon their addiction to the automobiles, contributing to the declining cars in the present and future.

In addition, another primary reason I believe that the cars in use will be fewer than today revolves around the advancement of technology. With the introduction of technology into the education and work field, no longer do students and employees need to go to schools or workplaces for study or work. In other words, technologies allow people to study online or work remote. As the requirements for going out are decrease, cars are not as necessary as they are today in the future.

In conclusion, people will be encouraged to take cars as less as possible owing to the environment problems and reduce their need for cars on account of the fact that they can study or work online. Take the aforementioned reasons into consideration, I believe that in twenty years, there will be fewer cars in use than there are today.