In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than there are today.

Many people say that there would be more cars in the future than today because of current high population and increasing demand for cars. However, I strongly agree that, there will be fewer cars in the future than there are now. I will explain my opinion with the following three reasons.

First of all, we need natural resources like petrol or diesel to run a car. With limited presence, causing high prices of these resources, many people would prefer not to use cars. We can see prices of petrol and diesel are increasing not only year by year, but even day by day. If this trend continues, many people will not consider using car at all. If we would have more natural resources, this scenario would have been different. Thus I believe, there will be less cars in the coming twenty years in future.

Secondly, increasing pollution have cause many people to stop using personal vehicles. Now a days, many people are cautious and aware about environmental impact of hazardous gasses released by vehicles which is causing pollution in the environment. Many awareness programs on the same topics are being conducted on many levels. This is making people realize not to use personal vehicles, such as cars or motorcycles. If gasses released by vehicles would not have impacted environment, most environmentalists would be in favor of using vehicles, which is sadly not a case. Therefore, this realization of environmental impact will reduce the number of cars on the roads in near future.

Finally, many opportunities for public transport provided by government will reduce the traffic of vehicles. Projects like increasing number of local trains, building metro routes and metro stations, cheaper available services for cycles will provide better access to people to commute. This sources are again cheaper, which will make people easily transform to use private transport to public transport. Absence of such projects and opportunities would have make people to own more vehicles, which is again not the case. So, I believe these new approaches will result in fewer cars in the coming twenty years than today.

Some people might say that with invention of electric vehicles or invention of hydrogen energy, number of cars will increase which makes this topic debatable. But with the reasons I have mentioned, I strongly agree that number of cars will be fewer in next twenty years.