At universities and colleges sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support

Although it is generally agreed that financial support should be directed towards all activities at universities and colleges, the question remains whether it should be focused on classes and libraries or it should be equal for all kind of activities. Personally, I am prone to believe that classes and other related activities should have primary financing. I hold this opinion for several reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, organizing proper classes is the primary function of educational institutions. People attend universities in order to gain knowledge and skills necessary for their future career. This in turn determines the importance of organizing proper classes for students. Whereas, sports and social activities are of secondary importance, at least for the vast majority of students. For instance, in my university only few students were paying equal importance to classes and social activities. I think this is the case for all universities.

Additionally, gaining necessary knowledge and skills is impossible if the university does not provide proper library services. It is obvious that attending classes is only one step in gaining knowledge. Things that are taught in classes may be effectively understood and memorized inly if they are supported by examing the relevant literature. For example, when I was a student I was spending a lot of time in university library in order to understand and learn things that were necessary for my future career. I do not know any person who succeeded in his or her studying without attending library.

To sum up briefly, sports and social activities are important for young people who attend educational institutions. However, classes and libraries need primary financing because the we got to university to gain knolwedge and skills for our career, and because without attending libraries education will be incomplete.