University students are often encouraged to study the fields in which significant job growth (a large increase in job opportunities) is expected; these fields currently include science, technology, engineering and math. Do you believe students should consider studying fields related to these subjects even if they are more interested in other subjects? Why or why not?

It is conspicuous that the main goal of attending a university is to get qualified in future job opportunities. Although every field of study in university is defined with respect to the requirements of our community, some of these fields are more practical than the others; thus they have more future job expectation. As far as I concern, I think it is plausible to choose the field of study that has more job opportunities, and the reasons to illuminate my point of view is presented as follows.

First, I believe that the chosen study field has a direct effect on future life and job opportunity of each student, and it has to be chosen cautiously. Before attending a university, most of the students had not explored which field of study they were interested in. Moreover, in adolescence, they were usually with little experience and too sentimental; thus, their interests in any subject are transient and without profound insight. As a result, a wrong decision is very prevalent among them and they usually will regret their choice in the future. For example, when I wanted to go to university, I had been investigating so many fields, and I finally chose Electrical and Communication engineering because I thought I was interested in this field. At that time, I had shallow knowledge of engineering fields, but now I have more knowledge. Therefore, if I could come back to the past I would choose computer engineering because it has a better job opportunity. Therefore, it is apparent that my personal experience shows that job opportunity has to be the main goal of choosing a field in university.

Second, the experience of most of the first world countries illustrates that more connection between industry and university leads to a more successful economy. Consequently, each field of study in each university has to be defined based on the requirements of that society. After that, universities have to have a plan for introducing different fields of study to students and make them familiar with those fields before attending the university. In this condition, each student has information about job opportunities; thus, they can choose their field of study with more knowledge. For example, when I was a master student, I attended a conference that its presenter was a professor from the Delft University of Netherland. In part of his speech, he said that every defined project in any major of study is based on the requirements of their industry and that is the main reason that their universities have big merit to their economy. As a result, I strongly believe that each student has to choose majors that are in direct connection to their industry; thus, they have more chances to guarantee their future.

In conclusion, I think students should consider studying fields that are more significant job growth is expected. In one hand, they can be sure about their future, and in the other and, they can help their economy.