What are some important qualities of a good politician (president, prime minister, or elected government official)? Use details and examples to support your explanation.

Politicians play a vital role in our political systems. A good politician is of emmense importance for having a virtuous government. A politician should have a number of good qualities. But, In my view there are some important qualities, which a politician must have. These are discussed below.

First, a good politician must be well educated. We all know education is the backbone of a nation and education shapes our civilization. Good education increases our conscience and decision making abilities. These abilities are very important for politicians to have because they are the policy makers of the society. If they take a wrong decision, it will hamper the society in the long run. For example, a few years back, our government had a politician, who was assigned responsibilitiesof the ministry of energy. Unfortunately, he was not very well educated, and did not have any basic idea of energy and it's consumptions. Therefore, he made some wrong decisions which increased the cost of generation of electricity in the power plants. Thus, the citizens eventually had to pay more for electricity consumptions. Also, the price of industrial commodities increased, since the industries dependent on electricity had to expend more money to produce their products. So, a good politician should be well eduacted as well.

Second, a good politician must be honest. We all know honesty is the best policy. We all trust an honest man. If there are dishonest politicians in the government, the government can not be a successful one. There will be chaos and corruption in the government which will destroy the well being of the society. For instance, I remember, there was a politician in our constituency, who was taken under custody by the law enforcement authorities for corruptions. The politician was dishonest. He sanctioned fund from the government for a construction project. But instead of using the fund for the project, he transferred the fund to his wife's bank account. Ultimately, the citizens of the constituency were the sufferers of his venality and dishonesty. Therefore, a poltician should be honest and aboveboard.

To conclude, being a politician is a noble profession. So, a plotician should have good qualities like proper education and honesty to serve the society well.