What are some of the qualities of a good parent? Use specific details and examples to explain your answer

In today’s world, it is an irrefutable fact that parenting is a challenging mission due to some stressful factors that affect parents’ and children’s life. Factors like unstable financial status, unsteady health condition and so on. However, most of the parents are able to meet good qualities of parenting despite all the demanding factors. In my opinion, these qualities are showing unconditional love, being a role model and a good listener. I will dive into the details in the following essay.

First of all, showing love to children without conditions will make them feel valued. Parents accept their children completely and without restrictions. Which means that the child doesn't have to be or do anything in particular to earn their love. For example, I always felt precious, although I was a trouble maker in my childhood. I was able to feel their strong love and see it through their eyes even when they punished me for those mistakes.

Secondly, serving as an example by influencing the children is an indispensable quality of parenting. For many children, the most important role models are their parents’. That will help them to shape how they behave in school and their lives in general. For instance, I always love to help impoverished that I meet in the streets or anywhere else. My daughter always asks me about the reason for that when she started realizing any behavior that I do. Then, I explained as simple as I could that helping the needy was very important because God told us to do so. On her sixth birthday, we were in the middle east, and while we were celebrating. She took her cake and asked me to go with her to the concierges. Then she told them that it was her birthday and she wanted to share her cake with them. It really touched their heart and they were so happy that she thought about them. That night she told me that she was copying me in helping the others, which made me so proud of her.

Thirdly, being a good listener to the child is another essential quality of good parenting. Showing interest and attention to the kids is like giving them an invitation and encouragement to talk. Although most of the children have naïve conversations about their innocent daily experiences, they will feel so happy if parents listen carefully. This will help them build skills in leadership and problem-solving. For example, my daughter tells me everything that happened to her when she comes back from school. She literally tells me every single detail. I listen carefully and sometimes interact with those stories as if she is an adult. We come out with the solution to her problems during these conversations. That gave her confidence, and that she can always solve every problem she faces by talking.

In conclusion, there can be a lot of qualities of good parenting. For me, the most important ones are showing love without conditions, becoming a good example for the children and, being an active listener. Having these qualities are the keys to successful parenting.