What do you want most in a friend – someone who is intelligent, or someone who has a sense of humor, o someone who is reliable? Which one on these characteristic is more important to you? Use reasons and specific examples to explain your choice.

Friends are people who we share our thoughts, secrets, and life with. Therefore it is important for people to depend on their friends. Personally, I think that the most significant quality of a friend is reliability. There are a few reasons why I hold this opinion.

First of all, a friend who we can count on helps resolve our problems. A great friend takes our troubles as his owns, and hence, will be there to help us when we need it. Conversely, if a person who we consider a friend promises us a support and then does not keep the promise, he let us down. My own experience is a compelling example of this. When I was moving to the United States, I did not have an opportunity to take my cat with me. I was really worried about the animal. However, a friend of mine said that she will take care of the creature until the moment when I will be able to move the cat to the U.S. In fact, she kept her word and provided him with a home, food, and love. In this way, my reliable friend helped me to overcome problematic life situation.

Secondly, when we can depend on a friend, we feel not lonely because we are certain that there is a person who will support us in any circumstances. This makes us feel less stressful and more protected. Indeed, if a friend helps us when we need it, we can accomplish more than we can do when we are alone. For instance, in the situation with my cat, which I mentioned above, I new that my animal was in good hands and it let me concentrate on other things, which I had to get done before the relocation to another country, such as packing all my stuff and buying flight tickets. It decreased the stressfulness of the event and made me feel supported and psychologically well. That is why it is crucial to have a reliable friend.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that the best friend is the one who I can count on at any moment of my life. This is because it helps me overcome life complications and feel emotionally great.