When a new technological device becomes available, some people buy it right away; others wait until many have adopted it. Which view do you agree with?

It is hard to deny that buying a smart device as soon as it is released will enable people to take advantage of the latest technologies, and such a fact leads some impressionable people to believe that purchasing the newly developed device right away is a good choice. However, such a statement suffers from both logical and factual fallacies. As far as various factors are concerned, I strongly hold the point that it is better to buy a new technological device after many people have adopted it.

First of all, it is much more financially feasible to purchase a technological product after many have adopted it. It is very normal for a retailer to set a relatively high price as soon as the product is released since the demand is surging. Meanwhile, after some time, the price will drop as the demand decreases. As a result, if you buy the product after some time it is released, you may get a much lower price. Therefore, the extent of the benefit of buying smart devices after some time is clear even to the layman’s eyes, and it is wise to purchase the device until many have adopted it.

Furthermore, the fact that people are often prone to make bad decisions indicates that people should wait until buying the goods. Take the case of one of my friends, Henry, who is a college student like thousands of others. He often regrets what he bought before, especially on the day when some new smartphones are released. After watching the on-site delivery, he will become excited and seek to buy the devices instantly. As a result, he often complains that the product he buys is not what he wants. Had it not been for his impulsive decision, he would never regret it so many times.

Nevertheless, a voice arises that buying a newly developed product will enable you to preview the latest technological trends. Ironically, new products are usually unstable, as it provides much less time for customers to find problems in them. Although they provide some new features that we’ve never seen before, it is not worth it when it comes to degeneration in experience. Therefore, I would prefer to buy a product after some time it is released rather than purchase it as soon as it is developed.

In a nutshell, I maintain that it is better to purchase a new technological device after many have adopted it. Admittedly, as my favorite saying from James Madison goes, “as long as the reason of man continues fallible, different opinions will be formed”, and many people may oppose my opinion. However, I believe that they will change their mind after being exposed to my article.