Whether government should fubd public transports or improve the condition of roads?

Some people believe that the government should spend money on mending roads and highways, while others tend to think that public transportation should be improved. Nevertheless, this debate remains unresolved. Personally, I concur with the latter opinion, the government should spend their resources on public transportation.  In the following paragraphs I will delve into the reasons and examples to substantiate my viewpoint.

First, improvements in public transportation will subsidise increasing air pollution. Nobody wants to live in an area filled with smog and dust. If buses and trains would be repaired or replaced then problem of pollution would be alleviated.  For instance, when old buses were replaced by new ones in my city, Chandigarh, the air quality improved substantially. Also, taking care of the environment is an unsaid mandate of the government.

Second, the main problem in cities is traffic jams, which are caused by the increase in the number of cars and motor vehicles. Traffic jams not only waste time and fuel, but also lead to bad moods among people on the roads.  By investing money in public transportation facilities, the government can make them more appealing, which would encourage people to travel by public transportation.  Consequently, it will reduce the number of private transports on the road, decreasing traffic jams, and revenue earned through fares will be beneficial for the government itself. On the contrary, if the government improves the conditions of roads and highways, this will encourage more people to drive their own vehicles and deter them from choosing public transportation.

In conclusion, I would like to reaffirm that it is more advantageous for the government to spend more money on public transportation. To recapitulate, improving the conditions of public transport modes of travel would help to control pollution and traffic jam problems, which are most important to tackle in the present situation.  Therefore, due to the aforementioned reasons, I believe that it is better to choose to spend on public sector transportation.