whether should parents tell their children to choose a major leading to a good job with a high salary or to follow a major in which they are interested in?

It goes without saying that in this progressive world, where we live, education is the most important parts of our lives, there has been a controversial debate among parents as to whether students should choose a major leading to a job with a high salary without taking children's interests in considerations. From my perspective, students should opt for their major on the basis of their desires and interests, and two reasons to support my viewpoint are elaborated upon hereunder.

To begin with, studying in a major that is interesting, students are more likely to be successful individuals in the future. It is not a secret to anyone that the key for being successful individuals is having passions, meaning when students like their study field they will make the most of their attempts and efforts to graduate and acquire a great deal of knowledge. I am of the opinion that for being an expert in a field, people have to work hard and be diligent; otherwise, they cannot reach their goals, and this diligence is not be created unless by having passions and interests because these factors prevent people especially students from giving up. To put it in more vivid picture, when I was in high school my parent told me to choose Biology major to become a professional doctor, but I was interested in mathematics major and I decided to be an engineer. Although materials and courses of math were so difficult, I could have great GPAs in the high school and university, which made me a good engineer. Had I not chosen my desired major, I would definitely regret and I would not be successful as I am today.

Furthermore, choosing a favorite major of study, pupils will enjoy the better health during the living. It is crystal clear that right decisions make us happy and satisfied since we are able to pursue our desires and dreams; we all know we have the right to live in this beautiful world just once and we want to make the most use of it, so following dreams plays a vital role in our happiness. Studying favorite major is not an exception through which student are able to gain their purposes because high salary and money cannot bring a sense of satisfactory when we are not be able to chase dreams. For instance, having asked to choose Biology major, my sister could not be the person he wanted all the time, she wanted to be an artists but because of my parents opinion, she decided to be a doctor; unfortunately, she got depression during her education and dropped the university out. Had she pursued her favorite major like me, she would not have gotten depression.

In sum, not only will students be more successful individuals in the future, they will also enjoy a better mental health and be satisfied with their lives