Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Providing Internet access is just as important as other services, such as building roads, so governments should offer Internet access to all of their citizens at no cost.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It goes without saying that in this progressive and sophisticated world, where we are living Internet plays an important role in our daily lives. There has been a controversial debate among people and some politicians as to whether providing free access to the internet is beneficial or not. As far as I am concerned, government should not spend its budget to provide free access to the Internet, and two reasons to support my viewpoint are presented as follows.

To being with, having the internet for free, people especially juvenile will jeopardize their mental and physical health. It is not a secret to anyone that Internet is interesting since provides numerous opportunities for humans to be occupied or facilitate the way they are living. It could be dangerous for new generations since they are more likely to depend on such a way to do their responsibilities or to get rid of their stress through playing online games. No longer will they turn into slothful individuals who do not make effort to do their tasks, which is detrimental for every society because youth are being considered as a powerful and important capacity that can figure out the fate of a country, so it is crucial to protect juveniles from these kind of harms; besides, spending time being online means that people do not move and they have a little exercise; as a result they will be fat in the near future. To put it in more vivid picture, when my younger sister was 12 years old, she was used to spending time using the internet and playing some online games because my father provided her free access to his internet, since my sister did not any concerns about spending money on it, she used to sit on sofa and be online all the time, which made her really fat. Had my father put strict rules about using the internet, my sister would not have such a health problem. As you can see, free access to the internet encourages people to spend more time surfing the net, which is harmful for people especially new generations and youth.

Furthermore, doing this, making the internet free, governments cannot solve serious problems and challenges. It is crystal clear that this practice needs a huge amount of money and governments should allocate a great portion of their budget to do so. Thus, they cannot invest money in practical project such as reducing the rate of poverty among citizens. Escaping from the clutches of poverty should be prioritized in order to have a affluent community, but by devoting money to such a projects, countries cannot experience the taste of welfare.

In sum, having aforementioned example and reasons into account, governments should not offer free access to the internet. Not only will the important part of communities will hurt, but people cannot experience living in welfare