Which is the best way for students to make friends?

a. participating in sport teams

b. volunteering for community service

c. traveling.

Friendship is one of the greatest things in one’s life. There is a saying goes that ”a life without a friend is a life without a sun”. Students can make friends through different channels: participating in sports teams, volunteering for community service or traveling. However, what is the best way for students to cultivate friendship? As far as I am concerned, the best way for students to form friendship is traveling.

To begin with, students can interact with people of different backgrounds, experiences and perspectives through traveling. Traveling provides an amazing opportunity to experience and further understand different cultures. Solid friendship can be built during this process. Take my own experience as an example. During my trip to Singapore last summer holiday, I met a great teacher Peter, while at first, I did not like him at all out of certain bias: Peter was Philippine. From the propaganda, I was told that Philippines are savage and crude. However, the fact is that Peter was not the so-called philippine people. He was rather friendly, extroverted and scholastic. We built friendship during the trip. Even today we often talk about the school life online.

Moreover, friendship built in the travel will be more likely to last longer. Traveling a one of the most efficient ways for people to relax themselves; therefore, people will be peaceful and calm down during the journey. If, say, some conflicts breaks out of people when they participate in sports teams, the conflicts are the trigger to end this trembling friendship because people are in a intense mood. They cannot calm down to think about what is the right thing to do. However, if they are in the travel, say a travel to Paris, they probably slow down and talk about the problem in a more harmonious way. And the friendship will not sink.

Admittedly, some may argue that traveling is even not a way to make friends not to mention the best way. Most of people claim that it is quite hard to maintain relationship with “passer-by” in the trip. People meet them and then a few days later they are gone. Possibly never to see or hear from again. However, these issues can totally be addressed. Never to forget that today is the information era. People all around the world have the access to certain social networking tools, like Twitter, Facebook or Wechat. Through these channels, we can bond with each other.

All in all, from the above reasons and examples, it is safe to draw the conclusion that the best way for students to make friends is traveling.