Which is more important for a leader: the ability to win an argument about an issue, or the ability to help others come to an argument about an issue? Use specific reasons and examples.

Many skills are needed for a successful leader. One of the most important skills is the ability to handle arguments. A great leader will be able to make people come to an argument rather than try to win the argument about an issue. I feel this way for many reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, it's beneficial for the leader himself to guide people until they reach a conviction rather than to force a solution upon the subordinates. Most individuals hate oppression in one way or another. As a result, giving people a degree of freedom would make the leader more liked and people would see her or him as a charismatic character. My own experiece is a compelling example on what I mean. When I started working a new job, my boss was so strict. He used to give me instructions on how to do the job without explaining why exactly I had to do things this way and not in a different sequence. Although most of the time what he told me was the best method to be efficient, I felt intimidated and paranoid. Consequently, I began to take what he said with a grain of salt. Our relationship was not good and I asked to get transferred to another location with the same company. Thus, having sufficient skills and knowledge on how to convince people to do the right thing without making them feeling at a losing position is essential for leadership.

Second, a leadership that helps people understand the whole picture first in order for them to come to their own conclusion is vital for a work environment or any other community of people. Employees would feel less stressed in a workplace that value transparency. In addition, informed workers would definitely be more productive than other workers who were just told what to do. More importantly, they would feel as part of the decision making process. Subsequently, a democratic workplace with understanding leaders would be more competitive and innovative. Moreover, trust would be built between management and labor. For instance, I remember my manager from a job in my home town. Whenever he saw me doing something in a wrong or inefficient way, he would always explain all the details to me so I would be able to figure out my won mistake. I always looked up to him and learned from him a lot. To sum up this argument, people would prefer a leader with high communication skills who is capable of ensuring all team members are well-posted with all the decisions the group is taking.

In conclusion, an admired leader, who stands beside her or his team making sure they have all the information they need to land on the right spot, is far better than a leader who would challenge other others in an intimidating manner.