Which is more important for a leader: the ability to win an argument about an issue, or the ability to help others come to an argument about an issue? Use specific reasons and examples.

Some believe that the ability to win an argument is a quality that leaders should be equipped with. Others argue that a good leader is one that helps others come to an agreement. I am among the latter group, and I will discuss the reasons for my choice below.

On one hand, if only the leader is the main decision-maker and the only winning party, the public would feel as if they are living under the rule of a dictator. If no one else’s opinions are taken into consideration and only the decision of the leader is imposed on the public, people would not wish to have this person as their head and make it hard for any changes to take place. For example, if the leader of a country decides to introduce a tax on a certain type of fuel while others are not willing to pay, this would simply lead to disagreements and protests which everyone wishes to avoid.

On the other hand, if a leader interacts well with their subordinates and makes them feel heard, people would want to follow them. The people under the leader as well as the public wish to contribute to the well-being of their community. This means that everyone will share the responsibility and would want to help with the changes that would occur. For example, if the leader along with their followers come to a consensus on the decision to introduce a tax, it would ease the process as people would be accepting of the decision.

In short, I believe that a competent leader is one who is able to bring people together and allow them to reach an almost unanimous agreement. Not only are such leaders more popular, but also more effective in bringing change to a community, as the residents are inclined to be helpful and take an active part in improving their region.