Which one of the following values is the most important to share with a young child (5-10 years old)?

1.being helpful 2. Being honest 3.Being well organized

With the rapid development of modern society, people are attaching increasing importance on primary education, since kids are the future of the society. The common belief is that schools and parents should not only impart academic knowledge, but also some moral values to young students. Different people hold different viewpoints when it comes to the most important value. Personally, I could not emphasis the necessity of telling children being honest more for the following reasons.

First and foremost, being an honest kid will help one gain good impression on people around them and thus get help when needed. As is known to all, the characteristic and disposition differs from one child to another, while one precious quality can be appreciated by everybody, that is: honesty. Therefore, it is not uncommon that a number of individuals are likely to have a preference for children who are honest. Particularly as adults like teachers, they are more willing to offer help and pay more attention to kids who always tell the truth. It is not hard to understand why: a honest student will probably tells his teachers if their speaking speed in class is too fast to follow, which will actually bring benefit to the whole class, and teachers will address his problem immediately.

Another point worth mentioning is that teaching kids the value of being honest will boost their interpersonal relationship, which plays a pivotal rule in their life in the long run. To state it more clearly, young students have to deal with various relationship both in school and at home, and obtaining trust from others is the key to build a solid one. Hence, when kids grow up, they will be grateful for their parents sharing them with such value. For instance, my cousin Jackson is told how to be honest since he was a 6-year-old boy. Thanks to the awareness of being honest, he made several good friends because they thought him as trust-worthy, although he could not realize its importance back then. Even now, they still keep in close touch with each other because of their mutual trust.

Admittedly, a kid can be liked by being well-disciplined as well as having a willing heart to lend a helping hand to other. Nevertheless, these qualities should be based on one’s honesty, since no matter how helpful or well-organized you are, once you are regard dishonest, other valuable qualities will waft up in the air. To put it into a nutshell, adults and teacher are well-advised to raise young students’ awareness of being an honest person as soon as possible.