Which of these forms of protest make the most impact:

• Going on strike

• Participating in marches

• Disseminating information through social media

In the context of the conflicting situation occurring these days in the whole country, we are here to analyse which way to protests produce the most impact: going on strike, marching or spread info through social media. For me, the kind of protest with most impact is going on strike but in specific industries, paralysing the production of necessary goods for the entity that you are fighting against.

One of the good reasons to go on strikes is that stopping production increases the necessity of the goods and the uncertainty of the availability of that in the future. With that, the fear is born, people around start panicking and looting for the limited resources. The people themself start marching asking for solutions and spreading information about what’s happening so indirectly going on strike leads to marching and to speaking about it. For example, most of the times when there happens to be a general disagree between society and the government, when the truck drivers go on strike, they cease the transport of different kinds of goods and mostly food, emptying the stands of the markets worrying the people so the disagreement with the government increases, like what happened in 1970’s during Salvador Allende’s presidency.

Another reason is stopping the production of goods it also stops the moving of capital and investment. This affects directly the pockets of the industry managers forcing them to pay the lost capital making them to think if they want to repeat that situation again. As an example we have the situation in the public sector where due to the economic growth of the country, the public workers receive a bonus every year during de annual readjustment of the budget, this is made to prevent strikes in the public sector. The most controversial case is in the mining sector. Miners of the copper corporation go on strike every three or four years. So to prevent the stopping of the production, the corporation investors, gives to the workers huge amounts of money in bonuses (in December 2016 was $4.350.000 each worker.

Because of these two reasons I think that going on strike and stopping the production of goods in key industries is the best way to protest against an employee or against any repressive authority. This action leads to decreasing their finances and to producing uncertainty.